SERIAC                       (SOUTH EAST REGION OF THE  IAC)

SERIAC                       (SOUTH EAST REGION OF THE  IAC)
 for 2.30 start.  

Entrance £7 to include a cream tea.

Hosted by:

Chichester Film and Video Makers

The Albany

2017 Results

Albany Shield

‘Curtain Call’

Chichester Film & Video Makers

Best overall entry

Runner Up

'The Travel Companion’

South Downs Film Makers


Newell Centre

Tozer Way

Chichester PO19 7LG                                                       

The Albany Competition began in 1966 after a suggestion by film making enthusiast and Albany Cine Club Chairman, Syd Mitchell . He suggested a competition to find the best film between Sussex clubs. This film had to be set to a theme, chosen by a representative of the clubs involved. After he died, the Albany Cine Club unfortunately folded but, thanks to the enthusiasm of the other Sussex clubs, the competition was revitalised and continues today as a tribute to Syd.

Initially open to all Sussex clubs, the competition has now been extended to closer clubs in East Hampshire, Surrey and Kent with a maximum number of fourteen club entrants. If there are insufficient entries, participating clubs can submit a second movie.

The competition is judged live and the results announced at the end of the event. The movies entered must not exceed 15 minutes running time and the club that wins will host the following year's event, with the proviso that the venue must always be in East or West Sussex.

2018 Albany Competition will be hosted by Chichester Film & Video Makers - theme ‘The Elephant in the Room’

Albany Editing Award

‘Curtain Call’

Chichester Film & Video Makers

Greenyer Trophy

‘The Picture’

South Downs Film Makers

Best use of sound

The Syd Mitchell Trophy

The Travel Companion

South Downs Film Makers

Best Comedy

52nd Year


Nick Clark

Richard Plowman

Tracy Gibbons

Alan Hepburn

James Keller

Best film Award collected by the director Kevin Pritchard.

The awards were presented by the Chichester Film and video Makers President Mr.Stan Harvey-Merritt



Roy Powell from South Downs Film Makers received

The ‘Runners Up’ award from Mr.Stan Harvey-Merritt, President of Chichester Film & video Makers.

The Best use of Sound Trophy was presented to John Guile SDFM

                                 Theme for 2018

          ‘Elephant in the room’

Sunday 22nd April 2018